Introduction to the Houstontech Blog

Introduction to the Houstontech Blog

Practical Python Projects for Everyone

About 5 years ago I started the journey down the Data Science / Cyber Security field. At that time I was transitioning from the social services sector, and although I was working with data on some level, it was nothing compared to what I do now. What I found to be difficult was the path that one can take toward becoming proficient in either field. I found myself reading so many books on the basics of programming in Python, SQL, and networking. The issue at hand was that I was learning with no real goal in site, and I constantly felt like I didn't know what would eventually transition me into the next step. Trust me when I say: "you will almost always feel you don't know enough, however you have to remind yourself that you know more than those who don't know the field, and those who are just barely learning".

For me the next step was to take a job that would allow me to utilize my soft technical skills, while at the same time introduce the harder technical skills into my role, and or work related projects. So in doing my research I came to the conclusion that I needed to take on a the role of a Project Associate,Technical Associate,Data Associate, or Data Analyst role so that I could find ways to be innovative in the workplace with stuff like Python,SQL,etc. The object was to get my feet wet so that I could not only learn on the job, but also build up my technical resume. Most jobs will teach you how to do the daily tasks, and will also have a team of people who will help you along the way, especially if you are new. However, if the position requires hard data skills than that is more than likely not the kind of position you want off the bat, and if you don't have an IT degree, or extensive background you will be looked at as someone who is expected to be guiding projects, or leading them and will be looked to as the main. For may taking on a position like this was initially a downgrade in pay compared to what I was making. But the sooner I could start the quicker I could move up and into a position that pays more.

If this you, then initially the position you may want to be looking for is something that is involving excel for basic ETL, or MS Access. If you feel comfortable I would even say maybe even basic database management if you have a basic understanding of how databases work. I initially didn't, but I got the experience while learning on the job. The reason why I say excel is good is because python works with excel, as well as VBA scripting,PowerShell, PowerBi and Tableau. These are decent areas to start building your technical skills on the job in a practical sense.

Now assuming that is where you are, then I hope this blog comes in handy for you. My objective is to create a blog that can be used in a practical sense for people who work with data in their current position, but are not yet full blown programmers, or SQL Analyst, but are looking for a way to integrate some things into their work so they can try to automate processes, or maybe add something to their work skills to get that promotion. My approach is to do a blog on small projects that I have found useful in my work in the past. Some of these projects may be found on the internet, and some of them might not. I'm not trying to recreate the wheel, just trying to be the light at the end of the tunnel if you are trying to find a little direction. Feel free to reach out if you would like to work on a project together.

I have added my Instagram name at the top. My discord name is CryptoFreak001, please feel free to add me.

-Pura Vida!!